Study Team

Principal Investigator:

Professor Patricia Kearney, Research Professor, Epidemiology and Public Health, University College Cork


ICE Postdoctoral Research Fellows:

Dr Michelle Queally, Department of Economics, NUI Galway

Michelle is the lead role in the development of the health economic aspects of the research project. This includes modelling the economic costs of childhood obesity, economic costing of including intervention in vaccination and also the economic evaluation of the childhood treatment intervention.

Dr Karen Matvienko-Sikar, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, UCC

Karen is a health psychologist who is currently working on synthesis of quantitative and qualitative research related to infant feeding and early interventions. Karen is involved in the design, piloting and evaluation of the pilot complex intervention to promote optimal infant feeding practices. She is also leading on developing and evaluating measurement of infant feeding outcomes.

Dr Elaine Toomey, School of Psychology, NUI Galway

Elaine recently completed her PhD in the School of Public Health, Physiotherapy and Sports Science in University College Dublin. Elaine is also involved in synthesising existing evidence and designing, piloting and evaluating the intervention. Elaine’s specific focus on the project will be the implementation components and process evaluation of the CHErIsH intervention.


Dr Molly Byrne, Senior Lecturer in Psychology and HRB Research Leader, School of Psychology, NUI Galway


Professor Catherine Hayes, Associate Professor in Public Health Medicine, School of Medicine, Trinity College Dublin


Dr Caroline Heary, Lecturer in Developmental Psychology, School of Psychology, NUI Galway


Dr Janas Harrington, Lecturer in Nutritional Epidemiology, Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, University College Cork


Dr Edel Doherty, Lecturer in Health Economics, Department of Economics, NUI Galway


Dr Sheena McHugh, Research Fellow, Department of Epidemiology & Public Health, University College Cork



  • Professor Simon Capewell
  • Professor John Cawley
  • Dr. Melissa van Dyke
  • Dr Cliodhna Foley-Nolan
  • Dr Tony Heffernan
  • Dr Colette Kelly
  • Ms Adrienne Lynham
  • Dr Jenny McSharry
  • Dr Ellinor Olander
  • Professor Ciaran O’Neill

Affiliated Researchers:

  • Ms Marita Hennessey
  • Ms Louise Tully